Every Youth Pastor’s Secret Weapon

Legend has it that St. Augustine said this;

He who sings, prays twice.

Recently a young clergyman visited seeking suggestions, as he heard I was a youth pastor 20 years ago.

I had no idea what I was doing, but I knew what I believed.

Since the age group was middle school, I thought the best way to get through was with music; that was a given.

My secret weapon was Keith Green.

If you’ve never heard him and you’re curious, all I can say is listen once and you’ll know why.

Starting a youth group takes more courage than faith; kids are brutally honest.

Rejection too is a given…but with great music you can cut right through the bone and marrow (pre-teens don’t have much else) and pierce their hearts with truth.

Here’s an experiment you can try on yourself.

Put your head down on a desk or table, close your eyes…then listen to this entire song called The Sheep and the Goats…it’s Biblically and brutally honest.

If you think it wrenched your soul, imagine what it could do to a 12-year-old.

Thanks Keith…amazing effort…I can’t wait to sing with you some day.

Keith-Green

PS…Keith Green died in a plane crash 30 years ago, but his music is still soaring.

 

 

Leave a Reply

