The Unforgettable Lebanese Spinach Salad

I have anecdotal evidence that when Matthew, Mark, Luke and John wrote the four Gospels, God the Holy Spirit had the power to bring back every memory of Jesus’ ministry, so followers of Christ could taste and see the Goodness of our Lord.

As a child I didn’t cook much, beyond scrambled eggs and toast.

I couldn’t really, as there were always a Lebanese mother and/or two grandmother’s blocking the way.

But, I have distinct memories of the flavors and smells of certain foods prepared in my mom’s kitchen.

I often earnestly pray that my first meal in heaven is kibbey neyeh from the hand of my Sittoo Betros, who always called me to the kitchen for the favored grandchild’s laq’mey (a healthy nibble).

The powerful taste was equaled only by the love I felt for her and our heritage.

Several years ago, soon after my mother had passed, her recipe for spinach salad literally popped into my head.

Remember, I had never made any salad, but I could consciously recall every ingredient.

That was my tiny blessed culinary miracle.

This spinach dish is as easy to make as it is delicious and healthy , and when you try, your family may never forget how good it made them feel.

INGREDIENTS

1 BAG SPINACH (BABY OR REGULAR)

1 BUNCH FRESH MINT

1/4 CUP PINE NUTS

3 MEDIUM CARROTS

2/3 CUP OF OLIVE OIL (I LIKE LIGHT)

1/2 CUP OF LEMON JUICE

SALT AND PEPPER TO TASTE

In a good size bowl place the chopped spinach and mint (no need to chop if it’s baby spinach) and the pine nuts.  Then with a grater, resting over the spinach, shave in three carrots.  Add the oil and lemon juice, then salt and pepper to taste.

Spinach Salad (2)

 

2 Responses to “The Unforgettable Lebanese Spinach Salad”

  1. dhuisjen2 Says:

    Not sure what it has to do with the gospels, but it looks like a good recipe. Will try it next time I come across fresh mint and spinach here that happen to cost less than a day’s pay for me. 🙂

  2. Susan Says:

    Mmmmm. Sounds yummy, Jim. Close second to fattoush? You sure are a great cook these days! Your Mama and Sittoo must be so proud, looking down on you from Heaven.

Leave a Reply

