My Foolish Idea as a City Councilor

One of the most foolish things I ever did as a City Councilor, at least by the Apostle Paul’s standards (2 Corinthians 11:23 “Are they ministers of Christ? I speak as a fool”) was the day I petitioned to return the 10 Commandments to our public schools.

You have to remember, I had no idea what I was doing, since it was not even a School Committee meeting at which I was pontificating.

The idea was inspired by the heart-wrenching tragedies of the Columbine High School massacre, where two teenage boys went on a killing spree murdering 12 of their peers.

I knew the motion would fail, but I had to try.

My suggestion was that the Law needed to be on display at every public school, not as a religious nod, but as an historic document.

My hope was that seeing the words “Thou shalt not kill” might actually prevent a repeat performance in Pittsfield.

I lost 10-1.

I even made national news, or so I was told, as my aunt heard my name on a news report in California the next day.

Now the better news.

Others, with a far better plan than me, in a place called Kansas, at the appropriate meeting of the School Board, have returned student led prayer to their High School.

http://www.leaderandtimes.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13473:board-votes-unanimously-to-allow-student-led-prayer&catid=12:local-news&Itemid=40

The article above is sure to inspire America’s wonderful population of self-loathing Atheists to drop legal bombs on their prayer party, to protect the children from themselves of course.

Here’s the bottom line.

Satan has America’s public schools right where he wants them…he’s not about to give back one inch of that territory without a fight.

God bless you rural Kansas school board…just be ready for a fight.

Leave a Reply

