Time for Tebow to Learn a New Anthem

When I was at U Mass in 1977 I wanted to get involved in theater.

There were auditions held for several One-Acts.

One of the roles that needed filling was that of an old man.

Thirty men in a room were asked to audition for that part.

Not one person raised their hand.

In a split second, I changed my mind.

I alone volunteered.

Acting somewhat relieved and even a bit perturbed at the rest of the gang, the director thanked me and handed me a script as I left the room.

My “audition” was more a “coronation” really.

Luke 14 spells out this concept.

“When you are invited by someone to a wedding banquet,
do not recline at table in the place of honor.
A more distinguished guest than you may have been invited by him,
and the host who invited both of you may approach you and say,
‘Give your place to this man,’
and then you would proceed with embarrassment
to take the lowest place.
Rather, when you are invited,
go and take the lowest place
so that when the host comes to you he may say,
‘My friend, move up to a higher position.’

Sure, a few other young men won leading roles, but most got sent home.

I doubt brother Tebow will read this obscure blog.

But if by chance you do Tim,  please know I too wanted the more glamorous leading role.

It’s understandable you want to be an NFL quarterback.

But at this time, openings may be far greater in the Canadian Football League.

Doug Flutie found opportunity there and even won a few championships.

Eventually, like in Luke 14, he was invited back to the NFL.

Canada has millions of lost souls too.

They just think salvation comes through winning a Stanley Cup.

If that’s where God wants you to go, who are we to question Him?

Flutie’s fame in Canada:

http://www.cfl.ca/page/hall-of-fame-doug-flutie

Leave a Reply

