Unforgivable Attire

You may be old enough to remember the song “Short Shorts.”

It goes like this.

There was a time when even the most harmless attire was considered risqué.

I’m sure guys and gals from that era thought “short” shorts were pretty cool…on the girls anyway.

What I’ll never get used to is the European idea of guys wearing them.

If you happen to be traveling internationally, you’ll see them, in their underwear, heading to the pool, making American guys blush…actually I was biting my tongue.

No matter how unforgivable that look might be, today’s Gospel reminds us that not forgiving someone, taught by our Lord Himself in Matthew 6:17, could be the difference between us being forgiven by God–or not.

If you forgive men their transgressions,
your heavenly Father will forgive you.
But if you do not forgive men,
neither will your Father forgive your transgressions.

I know you saw me laughing at that guy Lord.

I forgive him for what he was wearing.

Please forgive me for the million or so times I made you bite your tongue.

Leave a Reply

