“Yesterday” When Obama Wasn’t God

Younger readers probably have no idea of the controversy John Lennon caused in America because of a statement he made about the Beatles being bigger than Jesus.

Here are exerts from Wiki Answers on the subject.

The full quote in London’s Evening Standard went: “Christianity will go. It will vanish and shrink. I needn’t argue about that. I’m right and I will be proved right. We’re more popular than Jesus now. Jesus was all right, but his disciples were thick [meaning stupid] and ordinary. It’s them twisting it that ruins it for me. I don’t know which will go first – rock and roll, or Christianity.”

The comment came and went in Britain, with no fanfare; months later, an American teen magazine printed the quote out of context, and it turned into “The Beatles are bigger than Jesus Christ!” (which wasn’t even what he said, or suggested), as the Beatles were on what turned out to be their last concert tour.

Christians in the US did not appreciate the quote very much, and organized public record burnings. Even the Vatican issued a statement: “Some subjects must not be dealt with lightly, even in the world of beatniks.” Under pressure from his bandmates and manager Brian Epstein, Lennon made a public apology at a press conference in Chicago, during the summer of 1966.

Lennon: “I suppose if I had said television was more popular than Jesus, I would have gotten away with it, but I just happened to be talking to a friend and I used the words “Beatles” as a remote thing, not as what I think – as Beatles, as those other Beatles like other people see us. I just said “they” are having more influence on kids and things than anything else, including Jesus. But I said it in that way which is the wrong way.”

John, America did eventually forgive you for insulting God.

Sadly, you could very easily have gotten away with it today, and nothing… absolutely nothing, would have been said about it.

Here’s proof.

Leave a Reply

