The Craigslist Blessing

For many years, whenever I had to rent an apartment, I’d exclusively use our local newspaper’s classified advertisement section, to find a new tenant.

To be fair….it always worked well.

About six months ago, I decided to try Craigslist…it’s free, and compared to the $100 or so that the local print media would charge, it seemed worth a try.

Maybe it was the fact that I posted the ad on Saturday morning around 9 am, I don’t know…but within 15 minutes I was contacted by a young woman who agreed to move right in.

Several other inquiries came that day too, but the first was the best.

She’s still there today and has been a very pleasant addition to the neighborhood.

In today’s Old Testament reading from Isaiah 38, Hezekiah is facing a vacancy on his life.

He decides to try something new and the results are a bit surprising.

When Hezekiah was mortally ill,
the prophet Isaiah, son of Amoz, came and said to him:
“Thus says the LORD: Put your house in order,
for you are about to die; you shall not recover.”
Then Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the LORD:

“O LORD, remember how faithfully and wholeheartedly
I conducted myself in your presence,
doing what was pleasing to you!”
And Hezekiah wept bitterly.

Then the word of the LORD came to Isaiah: “Go, tell Hezekiah:
Thus says the LORD, the God of your father David:
I have heard your prayer and seen your tears.
I will heal you: in three days you shall go up to the LORD’s temple;
I will add fifteen years to your life.
I will rescue you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria;
I will be a shield to this city.”

I have no idea if my new tenant will be around 15 years.

That would be a blessing.

But what I do know is that God is interested in helping us in every area of our life, especially if we sincerely seek Him.

He’s compassionate beyond our comprehension and does not forget the good deeds we’ve done in the past.

Somehow I don’t believe that Hezekiah was able to fool God either.

What’s not clear, but is implied, is that Hezekiah renewed those good deeds from of old and set his life path back onto the “generosity” cycle.

Let’s all learn the lesson that God’s mercy and blessings can never be underestimated.

He’s always there to keep us occupied with Truth of His never-ending free gifts.

Leave a Reply

