I Like a Clean Shaven Man

Here’s the deal with the three-day beard every male model on TV and in Print is wearing…it’s not real.

What do I mean by that?

I tried it 30 years ago.

My own father told me I looked like a terrorist on the first day.

Have you ever seen James Harden from the Oklahoma City Thunder?

He’s only 22 and he looks like a 50-year-old Osama Bin Laden.

My brothers and I were so trained by our dad that leaving the house unshaven was a sin, that I found myself shaving at 3 am when the hospital called to say my dad was about to breathe his last.

I couldn’t bear the thought of him seeing me like that, especially as I said goodbye.

Getting back to why it’s not real…lately I’ve noticed young guys around town trying to make it work, but with little success.

There must be some type of  salon or makeup trick in Hollywood that the rest of America hasn’t figured out yet.

Instead of looking rugged and mature, most of these amateurs look more like a 15-year-old boy trying to force out a mustache.

I can still see my friends in 10th grade constantly stroking their upper lip, as if their fingers could inspire thickness.

I have no major Spiritual point today, or lesson about life you can glean…I just wanted to spout off a bit about something that needed commentary.

Leave a Reply

