My Double Portion as a Salesman

Those of you who knew my father are probably aware he may have been the most charming candy salesman that ever flipped an order pad.

He was never pushy or annoying with his presentations and everyone who met him, even customers who chose to buy elsewhere, had positive things to say about his professionalism.

One of the things that separates a good salesman from just an O.K. one is confidence.

No matter who he spoke with dad was confident he could edify their lives with his good products and even better attitude toward life.

To some that may sound a bit too confident, or cocky, or overly idealistic.

Not to me.

I saw his customers pour their hearts out to him with the most common problems that had little to do with which candy bars to buy.

His sales route was like a weekly counseling session because of his genuine love for people.

When he passed away, we needed three days to wake him because of the crowds.

Let’s see what happens in today’s Old Testament reading to a man named Elisha with similar confidence to succeed.

When they had crossed over, Elijah said to Elisha,
“Ask for whatever I may do for you, before I am taken from you.” Elisha answered, “May I receive a double portion of your spirit.” “You have asked something that is not easy,” Elijah replied. “Still, if you see me taken up from you,
your wish will be granted; otherwise not.”
As they walked on conversing,
a flaming chariot and flaming horses came between them,
and Elijah went up to heaven in a whirlwind.
When Elisha saw it happen he cried out,
“My father! my father! Israel’s chariots and drivers!”
But when he could no longer see him,
Elisha gripped his own garment and tore it in two.

Then he picked up Elijah’s mantle that had fallen from him,
and went back and stood at the bank of the Jordan.
Wielding the mantle that had fallen from Elijah,
Elisha struck the water in his turn and said,
“Where is the LORD, the God of Elijah?”
When Elisha struck the water it divided and he crossed over.

I have no idea whether or not I have a Biblically confirmed double portion of my father, but, like Elisha, who told Elijah he wanted to double his success, I know I’d like to double my father’s.

It’s important that we have role models whose spirit transcends life and death.

God has put mentors in our lives, who may be gone, but still speak to us by their timeless and selfless acts of kindness.

“The best salesman in the world is the best servant”…I can still hear my father saying those words.

What do you want to be best at?

Who are you serving?

And finally…whose spirit are you trying to double?

One Response to “My Double Portion as a Salesman”

  1. Susan Says:

    I definitely think it takes a certain personality to be a salesperson. I’ve often said to my hubs, “Jimmy could sell sand to a camel.” And I believe you could. You are that good!

Leave a Reply

