The First Massery Blogger

Every year, on the Sunday after Easter, tens of thousands of Catholics attend Mercy Sunday Mass at the Marion Fathers Shrine of Divine Mercy here in Stockbridge, Massachusetts.

Today is the Monday after.

Many years ago the Marion Press published four books that my father wrote.

They were daily reflections of his life.

Sound familiar?

I can still see him writing with his Cross pen on the front and back of cardboard t-shirt inserts that he seemed to have an endless pile of.

He retreated to his bedroom for solitude.

His books were published about once a year over the course of four or five years in the late 70’s and early 80’s.

I must’ve inherited his desire to share Christian thoughts.

He had much better will power than I, as he never ventured into the political arena.

I’m far too dense to avoid such controversy.

Most ironically, my dad never got to see the computer age, like we have it today.

The closest he came was a pocket calculator he called his computer, because it computed numbers.

The concept of him writing and posting his thoughts for the world to see each day would probably have been very exciting for him. 

God’s ways are often hard to comprehend.

I wish my father were still around to share his thoughts through the internet…but for some reason God took him home before that could happen.

There’s always a reason.

Is God asking you to carry on a tradition from the past?

If so, pray for mercy and wisdom to do what only God believes you have the power to do.

Your reach and success may astound you as much as it does your family.

2 Responses to “The First Massery Blogger”

  1. Susan Says:

    I’m the first blogger on this side of the family, too, James. Don’t you just LOVE it? I refer to it as my “beloved” blog because it truly is. I LOVE sharing my observations of life through words and photos. Check out my flag photo today, Patriot’s Day! Love you and big smooches to that littlest Massery!

  2. Susan Says:

    p.s. What I meant to say was “Don’t you just love blogging?”

    You do a super job and you are persevering, too! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

