Do You Know My Father Salvation?

I grew up in a Father Knows Best home.

Not just the 50’s/60’s TV show kind, with Robert Young and Jane Wyatt, but the reality version, with Ed and Alice Massery.

Mom never seemed to have a problem with her role, especially since 90% of the time, if I asked Dad a question, he would say–“go ask your mother.”

Obviously, we were a Church going family.

I don’t know if this is a universal feeling kids have, but I remember being at Mass, worrying about my salvation and thinking, my Dad is so Holy, that surely God would let me in–to Heaven that is, because we were related.

Doctrinally speaking, my evangelical friends would jump down my throat over that line of reasoning–personal relationship Jesus and all that stuff.

But, here’s something else to consider, from I Kings 11:11-13, that I read this morning in our Liturgy.

So the LORD said to Solomon, “Since this is your attitude and you have not kept my covenant and my decrees, which I commanded you, I will most certainly tear the kingdom away from you and give it to one of your subordinates.  Nevertheless, for the sake of David your father, I will not do it during your lifetime. I will tear it out of the hand of your son.  Yet I will not tear the whole kingdom from him, but will give him one tribe for the sake of David my servant and for the sake of Jerusalem, which I have chosen.”

I guess my instinctive hunch as a child wasn’t so far off base after all.

The bigger issue now, as a parent, is realizing that my behavior, and obedience to the Father, seems to affect the blessings my children and grandchildren might receive.

I like that.

Sure, it puts a load of responsibility on my shoulders, but, like Tom Brady said the other day, before Super Bowl XLVI, “if there’s a minute left in the game, and we’re down three points, I want the ball.”

Our plans don’t always turn out perfectly, sometimes circumstances around us prevent perfection from happening, but, God looks at the attitude of our heart.

There are no people in the world I love more than my children and grandson.

Give me the ball Lord, I want to obey You, so they can have any blessings I might have accrued, long after I’m gone.

Father knows best…just ask your mother.

One Response to “Do You Know My Father Salvation?”

  1. Praeteridiot Says:

    In the next chapter, Solomon’s son deliberately alienates the assembly of Israel by bragging that he’ll be even harsher than his father. While the kingdom could have been torn from the son another way, there must be responsibility on his part.

Leave a Reply

