Accepting Godly Advice–The Yoke Is On You

Entertainment in the 60’s was a bit different from what it is today.

At least in my family.

If my mom wasn’t cooking for 20 guests, then Sunday afternoons usually consisted of us going to someone else’s home, who was cooking for 20 guests.

Never once did I gladly jump in the Catalina station wagon and say “Hooray we’re going to visit Sittoo Afifi in Springfield.”

I always put up a fight.

Each time, patiently as the last, my dad would say something like–“you’ll see, there’ll be other kids there and you’ll have a great time.”

He was always right.

Cousins my own age, looking to avoid the same pain and boredom would be there  with toys and games and lots of laughs to make the time go by too quickly.

On the car ride home I recall more than once saying–“you were right dad, I had a great time.”

In today’s Gospel reading from Matthew 11, we read about the “shared yoke” with Jesus.

   28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

God always knows what’s best for us, like an earthly father, but even better.

When Christ calls us to wear His “yoke” we too often forget that the definition of “yoke” means He is right there by our side…in the car with us so to speak.

Help us Lord not to fear Your call and command for goodness and obedience.

May we have the courage to trust you and not complain.

You know us better than an earthly father knows a predictable son.

Bring on the Sunday visits.

Leave a Reply

