Jesus Defines Redistribution of Wealth

One of the nice things about believing in a Church divinely established by Christ is that messages, through Her Liturgy, are connected to current events.

I call them signs.

Others may call it blind faith.

Check out today’s reading from Luke 12.

 13Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.”

 14 Jesus replied, “Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you?” 15Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.”

 16 And he told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. 17He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’

   18 “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. 19And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’

   20“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

   21 “This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.”

The left leaning man in the crowd wants Jesus, a symbol of Government, to solve his problems regarding redistribution of an inheritance.

There’s no mention by the “someone,” that he has any right to this inheritance, he just whines about it.

I love Jesus’ reaction, when He says, “who appointed me a judge or an arbiter…?”

The F.L.E.A. Party folks, occupying Wall Street, along with their King, President Obama, cannot speak without contradicting God and attacking the wealthy.

To further the lesson about wealth, Christ goes on to teach about a rich man who did not share his abundance.

Nowhere in Scripture do we find redemption for obeying Government.

There is however, a great blessing for those who, through acts of charity, give freely to the less fortunate.

Government cannot redeem us, only God can, as we draw closer to Him through corporal works of love.

The rich man who tried to hoard wealth soon learned that his life would end in an instant.

The poor man who tries to force Government to provide for him is no different.

Both are refusing to see God for Who He is and elevating material things above the spiritual.

I’d like to go through the crowd of F.L.E.A.’s and ask them what percentage of income they tithe to their local church.

One Fox journalist recently canvassed the mob asking individuals if they believed in God.

The common answer?

No…not God per-se…but I am spiritual.

Eat, stink and be agnostic folks…your day is closer than you think.

As for the rich…salvation is in your own hands.

Liberty and Charity is one of the best links to the Almighty.

Leave a Reply

