Early Church Teaching on Blasphemy of the Holy Spirit

One of the most confusing doctrines within Christianity is one that talks about how blasphemy against the Holy Spirit is unforgivable.

Three of the Gospels mention it.

  • Mark 3:28-30:Truly I tell you, people will be forgiven all their sins and all the blasphemies they utter. But whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven, but is guilty of an eternal sin. He said this because they [the Pharisees] were saying, ‘He has an evil spirit’.
  • Matthew 12:30-32:Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters. And so I tell you, people will be forgiven every sin and blasphemy. But the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.
  • Luke 12:8-10:I tell you, whoever acknowledges me before men, the Son of Man will also acknowledge him before the angels of God. But he who disowns me before men will be disowned before the angels of God. And everyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven.

News flash.

I’m speechless.

(What I mean is, your soul is far too valuable to listen to what I say over theologians.)

Here’s the doctrinal explanation I like best, taught by one of  the earliest Apostles.

  • Despair: which consists in thinking that one’s own malice greater than Divine Goodness
  • Presumption: if a man wants to obtain glory without merits or pardon without repentance
  • Resistance to the known truth
  • Envy of a brother’s spiritual good, i. e. of the increase of Divine grace in the world
  • Impenitence, i. e. the specific purpose of not repenting a sin,
  • Obstinacy, whereby a man, clinging to his sin, becomes immune to the thought that the good searched in it is a very little one

News flash II.

This teaching is from the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

Thank you Lord, for people who cared enough to record the words of the early Church Fathers.

Otherwise we’d all be obstinate, impenitent, envious, resistant, presumptuous and despair filled vessels.

You knew I had to get my twist in.

Leave a Reply

