Oprah’s Greatest Contribution–Mattie Stepanek

The Oprah Winfrey show divides my house in half.

The women love it, the men…well…let’s just say we take naps.

I’ve watched a few episodes.

In fact, were it not for Oprah, I might never have heard of a young Catholic with Muscular Dystrophy named Mattie Stepanek.

The first time I caught a glimpse of him, I was overwhelmed by the power of God’s love his life reflected.

Mattie died before his 14th birthday.

In the short years the world knew him, Mattie published poetry that made it to the New York Times “best seller” list five times–then twice more posthumously.

The best news of all about Mattie is a committee has been formed to consider his life for Sainthood by the Catholic Church.

Count me in.

Is there an 800 number I can dial to place my vote?

I know that many of us see Oprah as a “new age” prophet of relativity.

Somehow God’s power, through Mattie, overpowered that worldview.

There’s hope for the Queen of TV.

I can hardly wait until that day when Mattie does become canonized and I can say,  “those Oprah episodes were the best–I just don’t remember any others.”

zzzzz…

http://www.mattieonline.com/

2 Responses to “Oprah’s Greatest Contribution–Mattie Stepanek”

  1. Susan Says:

    I think Oprah is an example of God in the world. She represents Him in the flesh! She is incredibly generous…..has helped thousands of people in as many ways. Some people in her powerful position and with her weatlth would have hoarded it all for themselves. Not Oprah.

    She is an amazing woman and encouager of people, including those who otherwise would never have their names see the light of day. Oprah is a woman one can truly strive to emulate. The key word in that last sentence is TRY.

    She deserves to slow down a bit. No doubt in every fiber of my being that God is very pleased with her. Hope some day I can say the same for the rest of us!

  2. Susan Says:

    p.s. Whoops. The key word is STRIVE, rather than try. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

